Zoom made updates to reduce the chance of an unwanted attendee joining a meeting or webinar.
By default, when an attendee registers for an event, the join link will no longer be displayed on the confirmation page of their web browser. Instead, the attendee will find the join link in the email confirmation, which will be sent to them as usual. Additionally the enhanced design will let the meeting organizer decide whether a user can join events that are already in progress, or about to start.
Dear Valued Customer,
Earlier this year, we reached out about an update to the registration confirmation page for meetings and webinars. The update aimed to improve our security by reducing the chance that unwanted participants might locate registration links on the open web and use them to join your meetings without your permission. We received customer feedback that our initial design did not fully consider the different ways you use the registration function. As a result, we postponed this update to incorporate your feedback into an enhanced design. We are now ready to reintroduce this update.
With this update, by default, when an attendee registers for an event, the join link will no longer be displayed on the confirmation page of their web browser. Instead, the attendee will find the join link in the email confirmation, which will be sent to them as usual. Again, this design is meant to reduce the chance of an unwanted attendee joining a meeting or webinar.
Our enhanced design will let you decide whether a user can join your events that are already in progress, or about to start. Selecting this option displays the join info on the confirmation page if a user registers less than 5 min before the start of the meeting, or if the meeting is already in progress. Importantly, enabling this option creates some risk by allowing users to join the session using any email and without email verification. Meeting hosts will see this new option in the Registration Settings dialog when they schedule a meeting. For webinar hosts to see this new option, an admin must first enable it under Webinar Registration Options in the web portal settings.
The new registration experience will be enabled in phases for all accounts starting on October 17, 2022, but admins and owners have the option to enable this right away if desired. If you would like to move to this new experience before October 17th, please contact support to turn on the “Enable New Registration Flow” setting for your account. Once enabled, by default, registrants will no longer see join information (link, meeting password, etc.) on the registration confirmation page and will be asked to refer to their confirmation emails for how to join your meeting or webinar. Please see the image below.
For more information on how to manage registrants and turn on the new registration experience, please check out our help articles (linked in Actions). As always, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our Support Team (linked in Actions) if you have any questions.